Dear Taxi Driver

Can I call you Taxi driver? because I don’t know your name. There has been so many and honestly, why learn your name when our time together is so short. Why bother? All I want to do is get from point A to point B. No, I don’t want to hear about how you get ripped off by “Non-Jordanian Arabs”, how you think I should walk to my destination because it’s good to “exercise”, or how a short trip lasts 30 minutes when it should only take 10 minutes, or how you just can’t go there because it’s too “busy”.

Well, I have a news flash for you. I will no longer need your services. I got my own ride now and I don’t have to deal with your issues anymore. I can happily listen to whatever station I want. Sing at the top of my lungs. Talk on the phone without being eavesdropped on and not questioned about how I look “foreign”

It feels good to be free from your evil clutches. I’m ready for this new adventure. 

So, take care or don’t. Just stay out of my way!

Best,

Samar 

2 thoughts on “Dear Taxi Driver

  1. I am not a fan of taxi drivers. For some reason Jordanian taxi drivers are very chatty. When I was in Jordan last January. I was there for 40 days. Few times I rode a taxi because I hated being in one. I walked a lot just to avoid them. When I visited Amman, one taxi driver went on and on and on about elections and named every Amman’s parliament candidate and of course he talked about who is corrupt and who is corrupt even more.

    Your investment in a car is the best thing you did with your money.
    Congratulations!

    1. Yes, they are chatty. I understand that they drive around all day and want some human contact…but sometimes, it’s just a little too much.

      Thanks! I’m excited about the new adventures to come!

Leave a Reply

