Lack of interest.

The other day, I was coming home from school and my friend called me about a noise disturbance in her building. She heard a woman and a man screaming at each other. That wasn’t the first time that she heard it, it had happened 2 weeks before but in the middle of the night. My friend doesn’t speak Arabic, so she asked me to call the police. I called the police and informed them of the issue, but the response I got was disheartening. They basically told me that they couldn’t do anything about it…because I wasn’t related to the woman and she didn’t actually call for help. I also didn’t have their phone number. I was very frustrated with the police because of their lack of concern. They just didn’t seem interested and weren’t going to do anything. 

They didn’t care that this person could be in serious trouble because she didn’t make the complaint. 

Laws don’t make sense. 

Continuing to live in that kind of destructive situation doesn’t make sense.

The fact that it doesn’t bother people, doesn’t make sense. 

Having children in the middle of these situations is terrible, and doesn’t make sense. 

but I pray that this woman finds a way to get out of this situation and that Allah keeps us all safe and gives us the wisdom to know when we need to seek help or leave. 

 

2 thoughts on “Lack of interest.

Leave a Reply

