“Look at me” culture

I seem to be constantly amazed by people in Jordan and their behavior. I am still shocked by what people have to say and do. I can’t believe that people would say or do. 

Case in point, One of my co-workers was talking about her sister-in-law’s engagement party. She wasn’t excited about going but was very excited about showing off. Her new dress, hair do and make-up. She wanted to be the center of attention when in reality it should be the bride. 

So, the engagement party happened and I asked her today how it went. Her comment was “It was bad and no one noticed my dress, makeup or hair. So, it was pointless that I bothered”

I wonder what happened to not outshining the bride? Are we as women that focused on looking the best that we have lost sight of everything else. 

Have we lost sight what really matters and focused on the jealousy and selfishness. Why do we reduce ourselves to such trivial things?

I wish I had the answers but I don’t. I do know that I don’t like it and try my hardest not to fall into these traps. 

Yet, it’s so easy to get sucked into the world of “women”. It’s a good thing I try to avoid hanging out with women who suck you into their insane worlds…but one can’t always help who we are thrown together with. 

3 thoughts on ““Look at me” culture

Leave a Reply

