Baking Blues

While I was growing up, my mom used to ALWAYS bake. She made amazing cakes, doughnuts, cinnamon rolls and cookies…to name a few. She also used to make us reese’s peanut butter. I know, amazing right??? 

But not only with my mom, my grandma also was a baker. I have numerous pictures of us baking together and one that currently sits in my living room. I don’t remember the picture but I do remember playing with the flour 🙂 

So, as I grew older…I got into the habit of baking as well. I make some really awesome chocolate chip cookies…ask anyone of my old co-workers in the US. 

But now, as I am trying out my rusty baking skills with new recipies..I’m finding that I don’t have the touch that my mom had or maybe I just need to figure out my oven? 

Peanut Butter Blossoms
Peanut Butter Blossoms

Things turn out not so tasty and most of all a little too well done…bordering on burnt. I can’t say all have turned out bad…but some just didn’t turn out so well. I guess, we can’t all be great bakers…but we can sure try!

Except my Peanut Butter Blossoms…those came out awesome! 

Thanks mom for trying to pass the baking genes to me…I think focus is another thing I need to learn. 

3 thoughts on “Baking Blues

  1. Well Samar, I blv I speak for the majority of us here: (a pic won`t cut it! We neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed to taste to be better able to judge for ourselves) .

    What! We`re making a sacrifice [too] 😛

    Baking like everything else, needs practice 🙂

Leave a Reply

