Sick and tired of being sick and tired

Lately, I have been sick. It started as the run of the mill cold and turned into a respiratory infection. This has made me think about illness and my cycle with illnesses.

I don’t get sick very often, usually 2 times a year when the seasons change…but now that I am back in Jordan…it feels like it’s a constant state of being. I can’t seem to get over this cold that has turned into a respiratory infection and now a bad cough. To top it all off, I woke up this morning with severe back pain that I can’t seem to figure out how I got it or how for the past couple of days I have had a headache that just won’t go away.

All of this is coupled into the fact that I refuse to take medication. I don’t see the point of pill popping but I am beginning to see the appeal. Just take this or that medication and your pain will disappear….or be masked?

As I get older, I realize that my body doesn’t bounce back as it used to…or maybe it’s Jordan? I never understood why people were always complaining of some illness or another here but I am starting to understand. This climate just doesn’t agree with people.

Maybe it’s also the fact that I am getting married in less than a month, I have had some crazy times with the kids at my school, my room was taken over by visiting family and I am still trying to get last-minute details for the wedding done…maybe that is the reason I am sick?

So, yes. I am sick and tired of being sick and tired.

Leave a Reply

