PDA in Jordan

Yesterday, Mr. Chemistry and I were out to lunch at a restaurant in Jabal Amman. As we were sitting down, eating, talking and enjoying the general day. I saw a couple sitting behind us, they were enjoying their food, each others company and showing some love. Actually, it wasn’t just a little bit..it was a bit TOO much!

They were making out in the restaurant! MAKING OUT, I tell you!

I told my co-workers this story and the first question they asked me is if they were foreigners but they weren’t which could have been an excuse.

I am not a fan of people making out in public, because I think it’s inconsiderate. What you do between you and your partner is your private business not everyone needs to see it.

Mind you, this isn’t the first time I have seen this level of PDA (public display of affection). It seems that it has become more rampant. People are making out, groping and sharing saliva more freely in public.

I’m sure you are about to say, they are in love, let them be! No, I will not. There should be some common decency for people who choose not to engage in this kind of behavior.

I just don’t like the way Jordan is becoming more liberal (Not in a good way liberal). There are so many great things we can take from the west like work ethic, educational advances, scientific advances, and other things but we take the bad. The drinking, PDA and horrible fashion sense. (Okay, it’s not all horrible…but some of it is bad!)

Yet, things change and we must accept change. Even if we don’t agree with the changes, sadly. (Okay, not really. I don’t just accept it, I write blog posts!)

So, couples out there everywhere…weigh in, please. Actually, not just couples but people.

PDA or no?

7 thoughts on “PDA in Jordan

  1. PDA was grounds for expulsion when I was in boarding school! I still can’t get used to PDA and it is everywhere in the States. I was kind-of looking forward to the break…

  2. @Jaraad: “Especially in a country that is 90% muslims” ? So you think it’s alright in countries where other religions are predominant ? That hardly poses it as an ethical issue now does it.

    Samar: Personally I don’t see an issue with public displays of affection, and I don’t think you should spend so much time and energy worrying about what other people do. If you’re uncomfortable with it, just don’t it, and if you’re uncomfortable looking at it, then turn around and look away. Just because you have a different set of values than the couple who were making out doesn’t mean one or the other should impose their values on the other. Both sides can coexist.

    1. Thanks for your comment Fadi. I don’t have an issue with people being affectionate in public…I just personally don’t agree with too much of it.

      I am not imposing my values on other people and I would ask other people not to impose their values on me as well. It’s a two way street. I don’t walk around telling people to put on hijab, as I wouldn’t like someone to tell me to take it off either. So, I think mutual respect is needed.

      Just to clarify, I don’t spend so much time and energy worrying about what other people do. It was a moment that happened and I blogged about it. I am also entitled to share my opinion.

      Like you said, both sides can coexist.

    2. No, I don’t think it is alright either in a Muslim country or in a non-Muslim country. But the subject was about Jordan which happen to be a predominant Muslim country and I am a Muslim. I disagree with you that what others do is their business. PDA is against Jordan’s culture and the religion of both Muslims and Christians.

Leave a Reply

