Parents

I have been at my new job for over a month now and I have had some interesting experiences with some of the parents.

The other day we had an open day event, with blow up castles, games and food! I was put at the front, the ticket booth, and I got to meet some of my students parents (which explains a lot about the students). I was amazed by some of the things they said.

Like, some parents didn’t want to pay the entrance fee and believed that we should pay them to come. This was my face

Yes, I realize I am not a guy but he expresses it so well!

And then the bigger shocker for me was that parents dropped their children off and left…LEFT! This is a FAMILY FUN DAY, not a drop your kid off day. There were these parents that dropped off their child and left…the school called and instead of coming to spend the day with their child, they dropped off the maid. Refer to the picture above for my facial reaction again. Where do you think those parents went to? They went to a picnic….Seriously? I mean, seriously!

But the award for most ridiciolous of things I heard on that day was when a parent refused to pay for their maid to come in. Their excuse? you ask. Well, I thought you never would! I quote “She is here to work” TO WORK! Seriously, woman? I just couldn’t believe my ears. I didn’t know how to respond to that but my co-worker did…She said “She is a human, too”.

I just don’t understand why people think that:

A. their kids are a burden.(Why do you have them?)

B. their maids are slaves and shouldn’t be treated like humans.(They are not)

C. just because you can afford the tuition then everyone should bow down to your every need.(I am not your slave, either)

All in all, it was a good day. I got to meet some cool parents, too!

I learned more about the backgrounds of my students and got to eat some yummy food 🙂 (Yes, it’s all about the food)

I also did learn that Parenting is hard, which I knew but it just sunk in a little more that day.

Things to look forward to, I guess.

 

2 thoughts on “Parents

  1. So, if the maid takes care of the child in the house and outside the house then what does the mother do? When does she show her love to her child?
    Refusing to pay the maid’s entrance fee is like not recognizing her existence. Shame on these parents.
    I think parenting is the best thing in the world but unfortunately some people don’t recognize the grace their are given by God.

    1. I wonder what they do myself, as well. One of my kids gets dropped off to school early because his mom wants to “sleep”. So, I am assuming it’s sleep, saloon, friends, and tv. Not much time left for the children, sadly.

      Agreed, parents are awesome but sometimes they fall short on the parental duties.

Leave a Reply

