We’re All Doing the Best We Can

I think Allah is amazing, I have said this many times. I also think Allah has a way of helping us in times of needs through different means.

Today, I was having an internal dialogue with myself about a number of things that have been bothering me. I was getting angrier and angrier at myself, the person and dredging up old issues that all seem to connect in my head perfectly but I would have never been able to articulate them well enough for someone to understand. When a couple of voices popped in my head including my mom, my best friend, my brother, Mr. Chemistry and my uncle who have contributed to this dialogue in my head in both negative and positive ways.

I took a break from this heated internal dialogue and checked my twitter feed and came upon this article that just made sense. “We’re All Doing the Best We Can” in Huffington post. The title alone was enough for me to say “SubhanAllah” (God is Glorious) and “Alhmadullah” (Praise to God). It just made perfect sense in my current state.

The author went on to list 5 ways that we can make this realization a reality which are:

1. Give people the benefit of the doubt.

2. Don’t take things personally.

3. Look for the good.

4. Seek first to understand.

5. Be gentle with others (and especially with yourself).

This is what I needed to find. Thank you Allah for creating man, who founded newspaper, who discovered computers, then the internet and then twitter to allow me to find this article in my time of need.

One thought on “We’re All Doing the Best We Can

  1. These five concepts are similar to “The Four Agreements” by don Miguel Ruiz.

    I am sure you will find it in the public library. The four agreements are:

    Be impeccable with your word
    Don’t take anything personally
    Don’t make assumptions
    Always do your best

    Give the book a try. It is really a mind opener.

Leave a Reply

