It will rain, and send a negative message too!

I recently heard the song “It Will Rain” by Bruno Mars and was overcome by a sense of alarm. I am a Human Services worker a.k.a. Social Worker and this song has raised a LOT of alarms in my head. I kept on thinking “My kids are listening to this!!” (By my kids, I mean the kids I worked with at my last job) because the opening lyrics are the following:

“If you ever leave me, baby,

Leave some morphine at my door

Cause it would take a whole lot of medication

To realize what we used to have,

We don’t have anymore.”

What kind of message is this sending about relationships? The use of medication? Dependency? Life?

I love music, really, I do. I am a firm believer that music effects your mood, lifestyle and attitude. It just makes me nervous when you hear lyrics like this. I wonder what goes through the writers head when he writes something like this. What happened to music that wasn’t this suggestive? Or maybe I wasn’t as aware as I am now?

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

