Matchmaker, Matchmaker…

Please don’t make me a match!

Lately, my family and friends have been trying to set me up with random guys. This is not unusual, but I’m just not feelin’ it.

I’m not feeling the constant desire that people have to set me up. I am not feeling the sorry looks I get when I say that I’m single. I’m not feeling the fact that people think they know what is best for me. I’m not feeling the rejection. I’m not feeling the way I have to dress up and say the right things to meet a guy. I’m not feeling love. I’m not feeling the pity. I’m not feeling people who are in a relationship. I’m not feeling romantic comedies. I’m not feeling love songs. I’m not feeling girls whose goal in life is to get married. I’m not feeling families who would disown their children for who they love. I’m not feeling people who have nothing to talk to me about except my marital status. I’m not feeling the fact that I am 26 and single. I’m not feeling the fact that because I am 26 it’s cause for concern. I’m not feeling the fact that I have finished college means I nothing left to achieve. I’m not feeling the fact that people envy me for being single and in the same breath pity me for being single.

I’m just not feelin’ it.

9 thoughts on “Matchmaker, Matchmaker…

  1. Ya salam, honey, 26 is SO young! This must be part of the problem of living between worlds. In one, 26 is the end, in the other, 26 is just the beginning. God has good plans for you, and being married to the wrong guy to fit someone else’s timeline is surely not part of it.

    Spend more time with the ones who don’t harass you, and play the “Allah Kareem” card. It worked for me when I was 34 and had no children yet. (whoa, and look what happened)

    1. Oh Kinzi! Why can’t every Auntie be like you?

      I know I’m still young and I am enjoying my life…it’s just gets a little annoying at times!

      Thanks for your words of wisdom!

      1. Most welcome, enti kinz. I will pray for your meddling aunties (and for Mr. right to come along at just the right time, and show them how good it is to wait a bit)

Leave a Reply

