Beauty

A couple of weeks ago, I was having dinner at my friend’s house. She is one of my oldest friends in the US and one of my best friends.

As we were eating dinner, her dad was asking me questions about Islam and what not. The issue of hijab and marriage came up. I was explaining to them how the traditional way to get married happens. As in, the mother and sister come to the house, see the girl and then report back to the potential groom. After that, he comes…they talk..etc, etc, etc. Her dad asked: “How does he decide? He can’t really see you.” I replied with: “It’s more than just looks that he is basing his decision on.”

BUT

This got me thinking. What is beauty? How do we define it? Who has it? Why does it matter? What is considered beautiful?

So, I googled.

This is how beauty is defined in the dictionary:

1. the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations (as shape, color, sound, etc.), a meaningful design or pattern, or something else (as a personality in which high spiritual qualities are manifest).
2. a beautiful  person, especially a woman. (Why does it have to “especially” be a woman?)
3. a beautiful  thing, as a work of art or a building.
4. Often, beauties. something that is beautiful  in nature or in some natural or artificial environment.
5. an individually pleasing or beautiful  quality; grace; charm: a vivid blue area that is the one real beauty of the painting.
Beauty is a lot of things, and it’s not skin deep or how much skin is exposed…it’s more than that. I just hope that people see that I didn’t forsake my beauty for hijab.
I choose to show it in a different way.
What is your idea of beauty?
4 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. lol @ especially a woman ,,

    well, beauty is SUPPOSED to be from the inside out but I guess we do not apply that 100% ,, not even 80%
    we do judge by appearances but I blv as we grow older we tend to develope the knack of applying what we know is true (inside-out approach) and not merely making lip service bwt it by using outside-in regarding beauty

  2. will its a variable thing for me , I used to think that the statement “beauty is in the eye of the beholder ” is not applicable , there were a famous love story and a man looked at the girl and saw her less than average so he had to ask her lover what do you see in her the lover replied you didnt look at her using my eyes .
    and many am not saying most of my friend got married by getting to know the girl then meeting her family then the groom’s family comes last .
    some say beauty is the eyes , body ,or many elements will I guess its in the Attitude wither its by behaving nice , having self confidence , ….

    finally I dont think that a women forsake hear beauty by wearing hijab it is a basic beauty element , its not how much a girl expose because at the end of the day its all the same but when a woman is wearing hijab you have to look in her mind first and see how she thinks you will get to know who she really is then you can call her “soul mate ” .

    1. Yes, you make a good point. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder….I think we forget that sometimes.

      Yes, hijab doesn’t make a person less beautiful…I think it changes the nature of the beauty. Some people don’t see it and some do. InshAllah we will all find our soul mates, someday!

Leave a Reply

