Feelings of Hopelessness

Sometimes this feeling of hopelessness grips me. I can’t control it and it usually subsides after a couple of days.

The last time I felt this profoundly hopeless was in college as I was reading a book about international relations. I don’t remember what the book was called or what I was reading exactly but I just remember thinking “This world is going down, we are doomed” History repeats it’s self, over and over again and yet we don’t remember.

I’m a perfect example of that. As I am repeating my own history.

I am currently ready “Witness in Palestine” by Anna Baltzer. She is a Jewish-American who went to Palestine through International Solidarity Movement and wrote about her experiences. I am feeling hopeless because of what she has written. The stories in here are horrifying and I’m not even half way through the book.

I pray to god that he gives me strength to help people around the world and gives strength to Palestinians to continue the struggle through everything. I pray that god eases their sorrows and instills hope in their hearts as well as mine.

“Allah is the Protector of those who have faith: from the depths of darkness He will lead them forth into light” (2:257)

Leave a Reply

