Titles

I have been asked to do a couple of events lately and they want to me label myself. Choose a title. Choose a label.

Choose Choose Choose!

Do I label myself based on my heritage? Arab American? No, that won’t work. Palestinian on my fathers side, American on my mothers side? That won’t work either. Palestinian from Tina, Slavic and Irish? Or I could say I’m half Palestinian, a quarter Irish and a quarter Slavic.

Or do I just label myself based on religion? I’m Muslim. Enough said.

Or do I label myself based on occupation? I’m a Social Worker.

How about political association? I’m a registered Democrat.

I could go on and on about the ways I could label myself. It’s a long list but what about the way people label us?

I have been called a pioneer woman, activist, advocate, a rebel and some not so nice things 🙂

All are good, all make sense but they just don’t do justice.

I’m a daughter, a sister, a Muslim and a person. I think that is what it all comes down to is being a person.

What is your title?

2 thoughts on “Titles

  1. I once heard something that I liked, “define yourself before people define you.”
    I think by being forward and proactive we define ourselves. What we do defines us. For example, when you know someone who is always nice you define him/her as being a nice person regardless of any other attribute.
    During my 9 years in the US only one American told me that she goes to church. Not that no one goes to church but as you know people here don’t discuss religion.
    For some Muslims, including myself, I like to talk about my religion. It defines me. People can call me or define me as a Muslim and I am fine with it.

    1. I do like that. I think that is a good way of putting it.

      Yeah, I would have to agree. Some Muslims don’t usually identify themselves as Muslims and others do. I think I’m usually defined as the Muslim and that is usually what I discuss with people. I am a hijabi, so it’s usually the first thing people see 🙂

      Yes, I have noticed that a lot about Americans. They don’t usually identify themselves by their religion. I did, however, go to a Lutheran College…So, a lot of people identified themselves by their religion. I used to hang out with a lot of people who identified themselves as Christians….We had similar values.

Leave a Reply

