Distances Traveled

In the past couple of weeks I have been doing some serious traveling.

After weeks of shopping, preparing and fretting over the right outfit. I finally found the right outfit for my brothers engagement in Jordan. I, literally, spent 4 hours looking for shoes one night. I never spend that much time on grocery shopping, let alone SHOE SHOPPING! I wish the story had a happy ending. I didn’t find shoes that night. I was looking for all the wrong things in all the wrong places. I did find shoes the next day within 30 minutes of starting my shopping trip along with a jacket for my dress. Seriously, if I had only known.

I present to you, the perfect shoes!

After shopping, packing and finding my passports..I drove 300 miles to Chicago to spend time with the family  before I flew 7000 miles to reach Jordan.

While in Jordan, I can’t tell you how many miles I drove…but it was A LOT! Visiting family, friends and new family members. It was a fast week.

The engagement was beautiful. Fun and I had blisters from the perfect shoes…All in All, it was worth it! The look on my brothers face and his happiness…just made it worth it. I am beyond happy for my brother. He deserves to be happy!

After my awesome week in Jordan, another 7000 miles and 2 planes later I reached the US. My mom, being the kind woman she is, drove me 300 miles back to my city. I was a tad sick, as in I had a respiratory infection, and didn’t think I would be up to the drive. What a kind lady! (Did you get that mom?)

I got back to the US on a Monday, back to work on a Tuesday and on a plane again by Friday.

This past weekend I traveled 1000 miles to Washington D.C. for 2 conferences.

It was a great learning experience and just fun to be in our nations capitol. I got to do some major sight-seeing, including some museums.

I went to the Holocaust Museum and it was eye-opening. I saw a lot of parallels between what is happening in Palestine from 1948 till now and what happened between 1941 – 1945. The destruction of towns, people and homes.

After attending my conferences and sightseeing. I flew another 1000 miles back to my city and am back to work. Excited about applying my new knowledge and making things happen!

It’s nice to be home, sometimes.

What have you been up to, lately?

6 thoughts on “Distances Traveled

  1. 4 hours for a shoe!!! <=== women 😛 😀

    As for me, I went to Jordan and came back in less than 72 hours! 🙂

  2. Definitely nothing as exciting as what you’ve been up to! 🙂 Just trying to keep life, work, and as much of the future as I can under control and running smoothly. Hope you feel better by now and have had a chance to rest!

    1. Oh I think you have some exciting times ahead of you Hala! You have a baby on the way and if that isn’t exciting, then I don’t know what is 🙂

      I just travel and work 🙂

  3. Hi Samar, congratulations on your brother’s engagement, glad you had a great time and I’m glad that he is happy. I remember him as a happy kid, guess he’s all grown up now. Say hi to your mum from me, seems she’s always helpful as usual.

Leave a Reply

