Family, Values and furniture

My mom has decided that she wants to buy new furniture for the living room, which is a thought I welcomed! I bought the last living room set when we first moved in to the house, around 6 and half years ago. It was a nice set but years of use have caused it to be obsolete. Instead of just re-upholstering it which is what we would have done in Jordan, we just bought a new one.

Trying to buy furniture is painful, we were in the store for a good 4 to 5 hours…walking around, sitting on couches, checking prices and searching for sales people to help. It was fun for the first hour and then it just got annoying. I started drifting from the original goal of sofa searching to checking out bedroom sets, people, and dreaming about my future home.

We went to a store in the Arab part of town…which is always interesting, to say the least. They all do this whole thing that I experienced in Jordan, the up and down look. I feel like I am being judged on what I wear, how I act, what I say and who I am with. It’s frustrating that we can leave that environment and yet not learn from it, not try to change the old habits and ways.

Something I noticed with some Arab families is that they hold on so tight to the ways of their forefathers that they forget to evolve, not all but some. Others forget completely and lose that part of their heritage. I have met some people who are my age that speak zero Arabic and both their parents are Arabs…I just think there has to be a balance. Easier said than done, for sure!

I’m not sure how my brother and I spoke Arabic since we grew up in both places. We grew up in Jordan, for the most part but spoke Arabic with my father and English with my mother…I don’t know how this arrangement came about but that is the way it worked out. My Arabic is anything but perfect and I can have a decent conversation with people! Another odd thing is that my brother and I usually speak in Arabic. Since he has been living in the US, he has been using a lot more English.

I don’t have the answer, and most likely won’t until I have my own children but for the time being…it’s sad to see.

Alas, the sofa was bought and we went to dinner. Now, we are in the midst of painting, and painting and enjoying the new comfy sofa, where I write this.

Oh, the joys of being home.

6 thoughts on “Family, Values and furniture

  1. Buying stuff is always always niiice 🙂 🙂

    we got to see the paintings, ok?

    *did I ever tell u I looooove to read in “green”; my fav. colour 🙂

    1. Yes, I would have to agree 🙂 I will take a picture of the painted walls…I stopped after one wall and my uncles finished the rest!! 🙂

      No, you didn’t tell me! Green is my second favorite color!

  2. Painting walls is almost therapeutic, for the first 30 minutes at least… Then it becomes anti-therapeutic! 😉

    At the very least, people have to take advantage of learning another language. My cousin (raised in Australia) insisted on speaking with his parents in Arabic so he can add a language to his resume. It’s cool that you can speak both langauages…

    1. Yes, the first 30 minutes was nice and then it just got annoying. I have this perfectionist in me that will not let the wall have any blemishes or imperfections!

      Yeah, I think it’s important to have it…and nowadays it’s a must. If you can’t speak at least 2 languages then you are not qualified enough…It’s insane.

  3. I think it is out of ignorance when two Arab parents speak with their children in English at home here in the US. By the way, I found in many occasions that when the father is an Arab and the mother is an American their children speak more Arabic than if both parents are Arab. I also noticed that new comers (like students) speak the least amount of Arabic with their children than Arab immigrants who have been here for 15 years or more. For Muslim families if they don’t know how important Arabic is they don’t care about their children Islamic teaching.
    I went to an Arab shopping area in Houston as you mentioned some bad behaviors unfortunately don’t change because of the place.

    1. That is an interesting observation. I don’t know many people who are half-half but those who I do know tend to sway more towards the American side.

      Yes, it’s so sad to see so many families lose their language abilities by trying to assimilate into the culture that they lose sight of some important things.

      Yes, that is the sad part…we take the bad and leave the good.

Leave a Reply

