Realities

I have been in the US for about a week and it has been interesting.

It feels surreal to be here, I haven’t fully grasped it yet. I am enjoying the time spent with family and friends but it just doesn’t feel real. Maybe real isn’t the best word, it doesn’t feel like I have just spent the past year in Jordan and this is the first time I am seeing them in a year…I just picked up where I left off with them. I like it.

There are certain things I am trying to get reacquainted with again or shake habits that I picked up in Jordan that don’t apply here like: I am trying to stop myself from speaking in Arabic to people who don’t speak the language, honking my horn when the light turns, drifting in and out of lanes without signaling, assuming that everyone on the road is going to drift into my lane without warning, sitting wherever I please in a movie theater, dressing in jeans and a t-shirt while not caring what people think, and reading labels to figure out if I can eat things.

It’s these simple things that are throwing me off…more than anything else. I am stuck in Jordan mode that it has been a challenge getting out of it. I am getting better at it every day, still a work in progress.

Jordan grows on ya after a while. (I never thought I would say that)

I think the real challenge will be when I visit my old stomping grounds this week. I’m headed to another state to see friends and my old home, job, and college. Now, that will be an experience.

2 thoughts on “Realities

  1. Reading labels on food is indeed bothersome… Well, depending on how much you eat! 🙂

    I guess you also faced the same issue when you came back to Jordan, so no worries. Enjoy meeting your old friends…

Leave a Reply

