If you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

This is something my mom has taught me. She emphasized the fact that if I have nothing nice to say, then I should just stay silent.

Now, I try to do this…but I’m opinionated and it doesn’t always work.

Well, her advice has come in handy, because she is a wise woman and becomes more and more wise the older I get. I think she always has been wise but I haven’t been wise enough to appreciate her wiseness. (Did I use wise, enough?)

So, silent…I shall be.

 

What advice have you gotten as a child?

6 thoughts on “If you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

  1. I think that advice is perfect when it’s used in a personal context – meaning, if you don’t have something nice to say about SOMEONE, then don’t say anything at all.
    BUT, if it’s your opinion about something that affects your life, current events, etc, you shouldn’t have to only say what’s perceived as “nice”. Just my 2 cents. 🙂

    So, what are you being silent about? 😉 (just kidding)

    1. I agree with you for the most part. I think there are certain situations where staying silent about your opinion is a good thing. In this society I have found that speaking your opinion isn’t appreciated. Actually, not just here. I have encountered it in the US as well. Maybe it’s that I am a girl :/

  2. Wise indeed, hard to apply though! 😦

    Mine ==> “althouhg classical” always respect the elderlies, always.

    H.

Leave a Reply

