One year anniversary

It’s my one year anniversary in Jordan. Happy Anniversary to me!

It has been a a whirlwind of a year and I honestly can’t believe it’s only been a year. I have had the opportunity to meet some amazing people, some not so amazing people, travel in the region, meet way too many marriage prospects, hang out with family and get to know myself just a little better. I also really realized the value of my community in the US.

Someone said this to me and it has really stuck with me…”Samar, you have taken offense from Jordan.” I have, I really have. I came here looking for a Jordan that doesn’t exist anymore…but it’s not just that that Jordan doesn’t exist…it’s that Samar doesn’t exist anymore. I’m no longer 14, I see the world differently and I’m different. It has been a struggle to re-adjust my world view and believe me, it’s a work in progress.

So, I don’t know where this next year will take me…maybe back to the US, or maybe I will stay here.

It’s all up in the air, which is not where I like it.

8 thoughts on “One year anniversary

  1. HapPpPpPy anniversary 🙂

    No matter what yr decision is; may u live it “happily”.

    Wish u the best in what life has got to offer.

    H.

    1. Well, I see things differently. There are various things that I just accepted when I was younger…gender roles, society rules and family expectations. Today, I don’t really conform to those…Also, I have a larger world view. I was very sheltered when I lived here and it has gone out the window when I moved to the US…I just see things differently that was as well.

      I’m also more aware of myself and surroundings and the role for a 25 year old is different than the role of a 14 year old…different rules and parameters are put in place now.

  2. Happy anniversary in Jordan!!!

    The years you were gone were filled with change, at so many levels. I lived here and could hardly keep up. May God’s wisdom guide you to where He leads you.

Leave a Reply

