Word Vomit: Marriage

Marriage. It has become word vomit. I hear it constantly from my family, friends, co-workers, and even strangers.

One of the first questions people ask me is “Are you married?” I often wonder, why does it matter? Am I less of a person if I am single? Will it change your opinion of me? Why do you care?. My usual answer is “No, thank god”

Women are constantly talking about marriage, when will I get married? why can’t I find the one? Guys are too picky! and so on and so on.

Old Ladies are constantly praying for me to settle down, open my own house, and have children. My usual thought is, I have opened a house, cooked for myself, and paid my bills. I don’t need a man to do that for me! My answer is usually different: Ameen and InshAllah.

It seems that I should be worried about my future, but oddly I’m not. I know Allah has a plan for me and it will all unfold at the right time.

My relatives constantly tell me, You have a job, you finished college and are at the “right” age…what else do you want? Apparently, career and life goals have no place in their equation.

 B.A + job = Marriage.

Not  B.A + career + Masters + saving the world = Marriage.

Now, I’m sure I can get a Masters and save the world WHILE married but things change when you are married. I’m not just making choices for myself..but for 2 people and maybe more.

I would like to say that it’s only a girl thing..but that isn’t true. I have many male friends who complain about their families wanting them to get married. The expiration date is a little later than mine but they get the same treatment.

We all would like a happily ever after but reality rears its ugly head and reminds us that: Happily ever after might not happen.

Yes, I have become a cynic about Marriage a.k.a word vomit.

What is your word vomit?

8 thoughts on “Word Vomit: Marriage

  1. My word vomit is kids…as in you have been married for three years, do you have kids? Are you planning to have them? When the real question should be can you take care of them financially if you were to have them? If I can’t pay down my bills first then my kids would have to eat ramen and spaghettios for their whole life. Not an awesome thought. So yes I do want them and I do plan to have them but first I want to pay for some stuff, be a little selfish for a bit longer and then I will have them.

    1. Yes, I think if you are not married, it’s when will you get married? If you are, when will you have a baby and when you do…when is the next one coming! Never ending!

      I think you are being responsible…but I can’t wait to see little heathers and steves running around…when the time is right 🙂

  2. And the thing is, everybody talks about it like it’s inevitable, as if were food or something. 🙂

    Yeah, and nobody here takes life goals into consideration, the whole idea is dead in them as soon as they are married! 😉

  3. lol! I have a friend who is falling into depression because of this =) It is as if she was a stigma and her parents wanna get rid of her ASAP!

    It does not end here! Where ever she goes, there are women asking her for her parents phone number.

    Anyways, my vomit words, are “aloofness” and “respect”!!! People around me use them as means of back-dooring my privacy! But nooo sir! They will never 😉

    1. I personally think my grandma wants to get rid of me 🙂 It’s not easy to be a girl and single…I think.

      Ugh, I hate that…I would start giving out fake numbers! Someone from my bank took my number off my account and called me about a guy! That is a new low!

      Privacy is defined very different in Jordan than other places…it amazes me. Keep up the closed back door policy!! 🙂

  4. What? Someone took your phone number off your bank account… Unbelievable!

    Probably the most awkward conversation ever, by the way 🙂

    And I still can’t believe it…

    1. Yeah, it was awkward! The funny thing is…I told my family this and they were like “Oh, I know someone who got married this way” blah blah blah…The ironic thing is…the guy was a judge! Irony at it’s finest.

Leave a Reply

