New form of flirting?

Flirting is something that is very ambiguous. I find myself wondering, Am I flirting with this person? Am I being too friendly? Do they think I like them? Is he flirting with me? Wait, did he just wink at me!?!?!?!?

I never know what constitutes as flirting. Is it joking, smiling, touching, or giggling like a school girl? (Side note, I don’t giggle like a school girl) People have differing opinions but what the ultimate answer is, I have yet to find out.

When does being friendly become flirting? And why do we always assume because someone is friendly they are flirting? Why can’t we be friendly for the sake of being friendly?

Regardless of what I think , flirting takes on a different shape in Jordan. It’s a whole different ballgame.

Here are some examples: I was driving home the other day and saw a car from Bahrain with the persons BBpin on the back of the car. I thought that was a little odd but have come to assume ( Yes, assume makes and a$$ out of you and me) that it’s a new form of flirting. I have heard of the whole blue tooth chatting, back in the day. Or the guys who put their numbers on their cars, I wonder if they get any calls from girls.

I was driving home and saw this guy and a girl, in two different cars, driving next to each other and talking! I mean, it wasn’t a side road…It was near sports city! Busy street and they were backing up traffic! Seriously? I mean Seriously!!?!?!

I have also recently seen the whole, going out with a friend but only to ditch the friend to meet a guy. Maybe that has gone a little beyond flirting?

(Note: A lot of these incidences happen while I am driving, this is no reflection on my driving skills. I have not caused any accidents in Jordan, except being rear ended and front ended by people who can’t drive.)

What is your definition of flirting?

2 thoughts on “New form of flirting?

  1. Exactly. The problem is that I tend to be over-friendly, and then I have to pull back at situations where it might seem awkward… I guess one has to act as natural as possible without worrying too much about the consequences.

    But where do draw a line between flirty and friendly? I do not know 🙂

Leave a Reply

