Daily Archives: January 17, 2012

Time

Standard

I have been thinking a lot about time. The concept of time and how it changes over the years. When we were young a minute was a really long time, and when someone said half an hour it was like the end of the world. We didn’t really have a concept of time but we did know that we wanted just another five minutes to play with our friends, stay up later, finish a book or even avoid taking a shower (I really hated showers when I was a kid).

As we got older, time became measured more by how long our classes were. How many hours we spent at school, with our friends, working and sleeping. The concept of time still didn’t feel the same. I had all the time in the world to do whatever I wanted. Including, deciding on what to do with my life, which college to go to, if I would ever meet a guy, and to travel.

In college, time was measured in class time, sleep, writing papers and time spent with friends. I had 4 years to figure out what kind of job I wanted to do. I didn’t have to choose a path until my second year in college, I did change my major 4 times in my first year but picked one and stuck with it. Driving back and forth from home to college took me 4 and half hours but always felt like less. It felt like 2 or sometimes 3 but never long and always easy. As my graduation date neared, thoughts of the future started popping in my head and I realized that I didn’t have enough time to do all that I had hoped to do in college. Including, travel, decide on a career path and figure out where I wanted to be or if I wanted to go to grad school or not. I never thought that I didn’t have enough time, I just assumed I had all the time in the world. I learned, and I am learning that as I get older…time is not on my side. My 4 and half hour trip back and fourth between my college town is far, daunting and just plain dreaded. A half an hour is not enough time. 5 minutes means nothing. And there is never enough time to sleep, read, talk and catch up on all of things that I care about.

When I was 22, I thought I would be happily married by 25 and if I didn’t it would be the end of the world! (Yes, a bit dramatic) Yet, that didn’t happen and I changed my plan. I worked on my career, traveled, lived in Jordan and I’m still toying with the idea of grad school.

Yet, I wouldn’t change anything for the world. I am a firm believer that things happen for a reason. Allah has a reason for things that happen in our lives. We might not understand the meaning behind it but in the end, it all comes together. Being married by 25 would not have been a good thing for me, I know this now but then it wasn’t so fun. I don’t regret going to my college because I had the opportunity to meet some really amazing people, do some amazing things and gain experience in a number of areas that have made me the person I am today.

Time is never on our side but the way we choose to use it, is our choice. I’m learning that as my departure date to Jordan is nearing and I feel that there isn’t enough time in the day to do all the things I want to do and that these past 2 months have flown by. (Mr. Chemistry wouldn’t agree)

I will miss spending time with family and friends but will cherish the time I spent with them and remind them that Jordan isn’t that far (Just a 12 hour plane ride). Hint hint, nudge nudge.

I look forward to time spent with more family, friends and Mr. Chemistry.

How would you like to spend your time?